0
$\begingroup$

In Blender 2.8, if you have multiple objects selected in Object Mode, and then hit Tab to enter Edit Mode, ALL the selected objects (both the yellow active object and the orange selected-but-inactive objects) will be editable. This is new behaviour for 2.8, and while it certainly has its uses, it can also cause unexpected problems if you only want to edit the single active object.

So I'm wondering: is there any way to disable this feature? I can't seem to find one, but it seems too obvious an option to be unavailable??

$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Is there any specific reason why you need to select both of the objects if you just want to edit the single active object ? $\endgroup$ – Bintang Senja Jul 21 at 4:58
  • $\begingroup$ I think if you utilize the new grouping method, then you will change your behavior in editing the object. And is there any shortcoming that both object entering edit mode? $\endgroup$ – Hikariztw Jul 21 at 5:40
  • $\begingroup$ You could make the objects you don't want to edit non selectable. Probably need more information on your workflow and what you are trying to achieve $\endgroup$ – barkest Jul 21 at 5:45
  • $\begingroup$ To clarify: I'm asking this because it's easy (for me, anyway) to accidentally select multiple objects, and to thus find myself editing vertices I don't want to edit. This problem is exacerbated by Blender remembering which vertices were active last time each object was in edit mode, which can mean if I've inadvertently selected multiple objects, I can discover hours later that vertices that were off-screen have been moved or deleted at some point when I didn't realize that object was being edited. It's not the end of the world, but it'd be nice to be able to turn the feature off. $\endgroup$ – Otis Jul 22 at 10:43
0
$\begingroup$

You can restrict the ability to select objects through filters. Once selectable is disabled you can't accidentally select the object anymore. In the example below Cube.001 and Cube.002 can't be selected in the 3D View until selectable is activated again.

This is not the same as deactivating the multi-object editing, however I don't think there is an option for that.

enter image description here

enter image description here

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.