5
$\begingroup$

I was using Blender, and i accidentally changed the start up file. I was wondering if i could change it back to the original starup when you first download Blender?

$\endgroup$
  • 4
    $\begingroup$ File>load factory settings> Ctrl+U However, this would disable any addons you have enabled. $\endgroup$ – Timaroberts Jan 25 '18 at 4:26
4
$\begingroup$

Blender stores its configuration and startup files in a directory specific to the user. This differs depending on the operating system.

For example, on Linux this would be something along the lines of :

/home/rich/.config/blender/2.76/config

On Windows it would be something similar to :

c:\Users\rich\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.76\config

Obviously the user ID ('rich') and the Blender version (2.76) would be different depending on your setup.

When you save the startup file, Blender saves the file in the configuration directory mentioned above. If there is no startup file when Blender starts then you'll get the 'factory default' startup file (ie, the default cube). If, however, blender finds a file named 'startup.blend' in the config directory then that will be loaded as the default state.

Therefore, to reset back to the 'factory default' startup file you simply need to locate the config directory and remove the 'startup.blend' file.

For example, on my (Linux) environment I have the following files in the 'config' directory :

(/home/rich/.config/blender/2.76/config)
-rw-rw-r-- 1 rich rich    308 Dec 14 12:45 bookmarks.txt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 rich rich    441 Jan 18 10:41 recent-files.txt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 rich rich 371104 Jan 25 11:39 startup.blend
-rw-rw-r-- 1 rich rich 116252 Sep  8  2016 userpref.blend

Removing the 'startup.blend' will reset blender back to the default startup file.

| improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$
3
$\begingroup$

Just adding to Rich Sedman answer, in MacOS you can find the startup.blend file at:

/Users/<USERNAME>/Library/Application\ Support/Blender/2.79/config/startup.blend

I can confirm that by deleting it, Blender will load the factory startup file when you reopen it.

| improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$
1
$\begingroup$

Step 1: File > Load factory setting

enter image description here

Step 2: Press "Ok"

enter image description here

Step 3: File > Save Startup File (and press "Ok" again)

enter image description here

| improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$
0
$\begingroup$

First you click load factory settings and above menu shows save startup file click it.

| improve this answer | |
$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.