0
$\begingroup$

I noticed Blender 2.79 doesn't show the "save & reload" option anymore. I used to use that to clear any unused materials. How can I do this? I tried making all objects single users, the orphan add-on, nothing seems to work.

$\endgroup$
3
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Hold SHIFT and click on the "X" in the Materials pane. Next time you open the .blend the material will be gone. $\endgroup$ – Dontwalk Dec 13 '17 at 16:56
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ I don't think there was svae&reload function by default before 2.79, maybe it was just an addon which became disabled. This feature is present in Amaranth Toolset addon, called exactly as you wrote in the question $\endgroup$ – Mr Zak Dec 13 '17 at 18:08
  • $\begingroup$ @MrZak interesting, I didn't realize it was in that addon. I'm not sure how I got a version with it. $\endgroup$ – lakerice Dec 13 '17 at 18:55
1
$\begingroup$

Hold SHIFT and click on the "X" in the Materials pane. Next time you open the .blend the material will be gone.

$\endgroup$
2
$\begingroup$

As an alternative to the other answer, if the material isn't assigned to anything, select "orphaned data" in the outliner and expand the "materials" category. you can then right-click and delete any material you don't want anymore and it will be removed from the file immediately, no need to save and reopen.

$\endgroup$
1
  • $\begingroup$ Nice that's also a good method $\endgroup$ – lakerice Dec 14 '17 at 20:29

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.