0
$\begingroup$

New Blender user here. I have been trying to remove the confirmation prompts when saving for more than half an hour and it is driving me mad.

What I want is to simply have Blender save the file without raising a fuss or anything when I press Ctrl+S. When I click on "Save" in the "File" menu in the top-left bar, it does that, but when I press the button combination, the confirmation prompt rears its ugly self.

I opened the "User Preferences" window and unchecked all the "Check Existing" boxes related to all the Save commands in the Window sub-category. At best, Ctrl+S brings up the "Save As" window and demands the file's destination path. At worst, it does absolutely nothing whatsoever.

Is there actually a simple way to disable this prompt? Thanks in advance.

$\endgroup$
5
  • $\begingroup$ I saw the linked potential duplicate question, and no, adding a Python script (with no explanantion whatsoever as to how we are supposed to do that) is not what I consider to be "simple". The other answer looks interesting but it doesn't explain at all how we are supposed to "create our operator with the file path set". $\endgroup$ – m_knight_jul Feb 21 '17 at 19:25
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Well then to answer you original question directly: No, there is no simple way to disable that at the moment unfortunately. $\endgroup$ – Duarte Farrajota Ramos Feb 21 '17 at 19:28
  • $\begingroup$ Oh, that's a shame. I should have expected that from Blender, to be honest. Anyway, in that case, how can I "create my operator with the file path set" as suggested in the linked question? That seems to be the least complicated solution. $\endgroup$ – m_knight_jul Feb 21 '17 at 19:32
  • $\begingroup$ Maybe this or this can help $\endgroup$ – Duarte Farrajota Ramos Feb 21 '17 at 19:42
  • $\begingroup$ Urgh, so it actually involves fiddling with scripts... Thanks a lot for you answer! $\endgroup$ – m_knight_jul Feb 21 '17 at 19:54

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.