13
$\begingroup$

I teach Blender to classes of game design students in the University of California and a student came to me yesterday with a problem I haven't seen before. She's created a very simple file, but when it's saved Blender puts a .blend1 extension on it every time, not the normal .blend. This means that after it's saved twice there are two .blend1 files in the directory, and no .blend file. I have no idea why this is happening. What has she done? Anyone seen this before?

thanks - Chris

$\endgroup$
3
  • $\begingroup$ Not that I can help you, but it might be helpful to know if the file names are absolutely identical (I'd be curious to know how that would be possible) or if Blender (or the OS for that matter) changes the name in some other way. And if she saves it yet another time, are there three .blend1 files, or two .blend1 and one .blend2? $\endgroup$
    – user27640
    Oct 4, 2016 at 22:59
  • $\begingroup$ They're identical. No, I have no idea how that's possible either. I thought I posted a screenshot, but for some reason it's not appearing. Anyway, the names are identical. $\endgroup$
    – Designinca
    Oct 5, 2016 at 21:26
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ It would be interesting to take a look at User Prefs File tab regarding that feature setup, see blender.stackexchange.com/questions/1212/…. As it stands, it makes .blend1 to be .blend2, .blend to be .blend1, and then saves a blend. It could be a bug if it works partially.. $\endgroup$
    – Mr Zak
    Oct 6, 2016 at 15:19

1 Answer 1

15
$\begingroup$

That's Blender's file versioning system. A very subtle but quite helpful feature. When you open the settings panel, under File, you can specify how many previous versions of a file you want to keep around on your computer.

So everytime you hit save, Blender maintains a stack of previous versions of the same file so you have some backup of your work and don't overwrite your progress when saving.

Settings

In the above screenshot, the last 5 versions of one .blend file are saved. All suffixed individually (.blend1, .blend2 and so on).

You can enable showing file versions in the open file dialog if you want to pick a specific version from your save history (red arrow). And also you can toggle showing normal .blend files in that dialog (green arrow) which is what your student probably did.

Open File Dialog

Hope this helps!

$\endgroup$
3
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ I don't think this answers the question, since the OP clearly states that there is no .blend file, but instead two .blend1 files. $\endgroup$
    – user27640
    Oct 4, 2016 at 23:01
  • $\begingroup$ @DuaneDibbley yes that was an accident, I fixed it! $\endgroup$
    – qCring
    Oct 4, 2016 at 23:08
  • $\begingroup$ Thanks - and I wasn't aware of the filter, useful - but her file consistently saves as a blend1 file. There are two blend1 files in the directory, which is crazy, but that's how it is. $\endgroup$
    – Designinca
    Oct 5, 2016 at 21:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.