5
$\begingroup$

I have a problem naming files. I tend to name them crazy things because I don't feel like naming them properly when in a hurry.

Anyways, I am very used to photoshop, and just about every other program out there when it comes to saving things. With blender, I save a file, and choose to overwrite the blend file, but for some reason it creates a blend1, or a blend11, or some other crazy combination of blend.blend1.blend, etc.

All I want is to be able to save my file with one name. If I want to save that file as a different name to make a copy, I'd like to just do a "Save As" to save it with an alternative name.

My desktop is FILLED with orange blender icons! If anyone could help me get this working the way I described I'd really appreciate it. I'm very new to blender.

$\endgroup$
17
$\begingroup$

Any file with ".blend" and then a number is a backup file created by blender. This is not related to Save or Save As, which act the same as other program's implementations of them. Every time you save, the previous saved version gets loaded into ".blend1", so these extra files are your previous saves. If you ever wanted to use one of these previous saves you would rename the extension back to ".blend" and open it.

In Blender 2.9 you can go to Edit> Preferences> Save & Load and set Save Versions to 0 if you don't want these extra backup files:

In 2.79, Save Versions is found via File> User Preferences> File:

enter image description here

$\endgroup$
5
  • $\begingroup$ Exactly what I needed. Thanks for saving me icon space! $\endgroup$
    – DarkMatter
    Aug 20 '16 at 1:20
  • $\begingroup$ Also click "save user settings"... $\endgroup$ Aug 19 '17 at 12:25
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ I would not leave save versions at 0, for easy disaster recovery. May I suggest you to not save files on your desktop as well? If decluttering is your main objective, consider creating a dedicated "projects" folder in your documents, with one subfolder for each individual project. I promise it will be useful even when you start working with textures, animations with multiple frames to render, simulation caches and reference pictures for a specific job! $\endgroup$ Jun 11 at 9:59
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Now located in Preferences > Save & Load > Save Versions to 0 $\endgroup$
    – Robbie
    Nov 10 at 19:08
  • $\begingroup$ @Robbie Thanks, updated. $\endgroup$ Nov 11 at 16:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.