1
$\begingroup$

So, I was working on some animations the day before, and I saved my file and clicked the F in the action editor next to the ones I wanted saved (There were some other animations that I didn't know how to delete), and went to bed. When I woke up the next day, I started up the file, and all of my animations were gone. Does anyone know why this is? Is there some sort of way to save your animation, or is that what the F does, even though I pressed it?

By the way, I got then back by re-loading my old save file, I just want to know why that happened. Let me know if you need any extra details. Thanks!

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ Did you save after pressing F next to the animation tracks (as I understand you mean either NLA strips or actions in Action Editor) ? $\endgroup$ – Mr Zak Jun 14 '16 at 14:59
  • $\begingroup$ Not an answer to the question: you can go back to the point where you were before turning the computer off by "recovering autosave" or "Recover Last Session". If you closed blender using quit, the last session would be saved as "quit.blend' file on your tmp folder. $\endgroup$ – cegaton Jun 14 '16 at 15:15
  • $\begingroup$ Yes, I press F, looked at the animation a bit, then saved my file. $\endgroup$ – Ventuar Jun 14 '16 at 15:29
  • $\begingroup$ Try reloading your saved file, instead of using the autoload last session, which should be the same, but it isn't. $\endgroup$ – josh sanfelici Jun 14 '16 at 18:36
  • $\begingroup$ I already solved it at the time I posted it, but I just wanted to know if it was a bug or not. Judging from the answers, it was most likely a bug. Thank you! $\endgroup$ – Ventuar Jun 14 '16 at 21:00
1
$\begingroup$

The F toggle is something many of us animators have complaints about. Yes it has to be selected to keep Actions if you start a new Action. The F toggle stands for Fake User. When you start a new Action via the Action Editor the Action that you had is removed from the Armature. As objects can only use 1 Action at a time.

The correct way to use multiple actions is to use the NLA Editor. There are new buttons in the Action Editor's Header: Push Down and Stash. You can use those to save your Actions in the NLA Editor so that they don't get deleted.

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.