When I no longer need the images, sifting through the image data blocks (or even typing the name) can be time-consuming in repetition. Especially when images have the same or similar prefixes.
Is there a way around this?
Blender Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who use Blender to create 3D graphics, animations, or games. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
.002 ... I see at the end of the names would indicate the image blocks have been duplicated. See if this question is any help.
Unless you see a
0 between the preview and the image name, then the image is linked to something. Only when this user count is zero will the blocks be removed when saving the file. The image may be used by an image node in your materials which you may have duplicated, or it could be a brush texture that you may have created multiple times, 3DView background images, the list goes on.
When you have a data block that has no users it will automatically be removed when you save your project and reload the file.
Blender does not delete data right away as someone may have a use for it still. An example is if something has been imported/linked/appended and has not been assigned to an object yet. Obviously you want it to stay in memory until it is given a user or else it would be gone as quickly as it was loaded!
To recap simply save your scene and reopen it and all your unused content will go away. With the exception of data that you have specifically told blender not to delete even if it has no users. (You can do that by pressing the button with the letter 'F' on it.)