8
$\begingroup$

It is my understanding that when materials for eg, are not attached to an object and you save the blend file - the materials are gone when you re-open the file?

How can you keep your materials - even when they are not attached to an object ?

$\endgroup$

2 Answers 2

12
$\begingroup$

Click the F icon:

enter image description here

This adds a fake user which acts like an object using the material, preventing it from being deleted.

See the reference manual page on the topic.

$\endgroup$
0
$\begingroup$

enter image description here

For everyone still wondering, like I did today, the 'F' icon was now changed to a shield icon and turns white with a checkmark when enabled.

$\endgroup$
1
  • $\begingroup$ I recommend you edit the existing answer to include details about this change. $\endgroup$ Mar 10, 2023 at 15:04

You must log in to answer this question.