3
$\begingroup$

Rather than continue spending time on an issue I can't resolve, I want to completely wipe Blender from my computer and reinstall it as if I'm installing it for the first time.

Steps I tried:

  1. I selected "Load factory settings", but Blender stayed the same.

  2. I dragged the Blender folder and zip file to the trash and Securely Emptied Trash, but when I downloaded and installed a fresh version from the Blender site, Blender still had my old settings.

Still, Blender opens with all my old settings. How can I remove all traces of Blender and install it totally new?

$\endgroup$
3
$\begingroup$

Check the OSX sections in the Blender manual, it lists all the default paths where Blender stores data / scripts after you install them.

https://www.blender.org/manual/getting_started/installing_blender/directorylayout.html

If you remove Blender from all those places, and then reinstall, you'll be ready to rock again.

__

Blender, like almost all programs, must store persistent information like preferences, themes and scripts somewhere on your hard-drive. This is information you don't want to lose when you update Blender to a newer version. Normally that's exactly what you want, but if the stored information contains some weird content ( like in your case ) you can do a purge by removing all references to Blender from the directories listed in the link above. Blender will add those directories back again if it needs to.

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ I get "The folder can't be found" when I copy and paste Local, User, and System lines into "Go to Folder", as shown here: imgur.com/koagPCX $\endgroup$ – Aubrie Aug 20 '15 at 2:15
  • $\begingroup$ @Aubrie, has the warning message about UTF-8 gone away? $\endgroup$ – zeffii Aug 20 '15 at 8:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.