1
$\begingroup$

As can be seen below the textures on the presents are not visible on material preview mode but visible on the render preview.

enter image description here

I've tried to pack resources with (File → External Data → Pack resources) and tried to find missing files with (File → External Data → Find missing Files) showing the textures location but still I can't see the textures on material preview mode.

enter image description here

Do you have any idea about what I am missing here?

Here is the properties screenshot of the missing image enter image description here

$\endgroup$
12
  • $\begingroup$ Hello could you please pack your image and share one of your boxes? blend-exchange.com $\endgroup$
    – moonboots
    Dec 19, 2022 at 11:42
  • $\begingroup$ What do you mean by pack your image? I guess I've clicked everything on External Data menu but the issue still not resolved... $\endgroup$
    – ycp
    Dec 19, 2022 at 12:34
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @ycp I think moonboots means share your file with us (just one of the boxes for simplicity) after doing external data > pack resources so we can take a look, not that packing should fix your issue $\endgroup$
    – Kuboå
    Dec 19, 2022 at 12:37
  • $\begingroup$ Yes I meant pack the resources, which seems to be the case but I just want to be sure that you'll share the textures as well ;) $\endgroup$
    – moonboots
    Dec 19, 2022 at 12:39
  • $\begingroup$ It seems I am a total noob :) I'm unpacking the blend file to share it but it is still 80mb. And even if I try to export one of the boxes as stl or fbx when i import it to a new scene it seems it adds all of the scene with tree and other stuff :( $\endgroup$
    – ycp
    Dec 19, 2022 at 13:13

1 Answer 1

0
$\begingroup$

It seems to be a problem of format, it is currently 8 bit, which makes it invisible in Eevee and in Material Preview. If you save your image as 16-bit float it will work fine.

$\endgroup$
13
  • $\begingroup$ Where do you see it's an 8-bit image? Do you convert it to 16 in Blender itself, or in an external image editor? $\endgroup$
    – Kuboå
    Dec 19, 2022 at 15:05
  • $\begingroup$ ok how can I do that? I've changed Color Depth value 8 to 16 on output properties is that it? $\endgroup$
    – ycp
    Dec 19, 2022 at 15:06
  • $\begingroup$ I've unpacked the image, opened it in Krita and saw that it was 8 bit, I converted it in Krita $\endgroup$
    – moonboots
    Dec 19, 2022 at 15:08
  • $\begingroup$ I've unwrapped the cubes with cube projection is this related to that? Also I've tried to change the float to 16bit from the output properties and saved the file but after reopening the file I still could not see the image on material preview. $\endgroup$
    – ycp
    Dec 19, 2022 at 15:17
  • $\begingroup$ Could you share your file again? $\endgroup$
    – moonboots
    Dec 19, 2022 at 15:41

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .