0
$\begingroup$

My texture is showing up bright pink in material preview. When I use render preview (cycles) it works fine. After a lot of research I found out that the problem is that material preview uses Eevee and that the texture can not be displayed there. But the thing is I am following a tutorial and no one else seems to have this problem. And even in the video he is seeing his texture in material preview. So I wonder if there is a way I can fix this problem? Any help would be deeply appreciated!

$\endgroup$
4
  • $\begingroup$ Go to File > External Data > Pack All Into . blend then share your file on blend-exchange.com $\endgroup$ Nov 1, 2022 at 11:14
  • $\begingroup$ my .blend file is too big, idk how to decrease the size $\endgroup$
    – Evan
    Nov 1, 2022 at 11:27
  • $\begingroup$ You don't need to show everything. just produce a simple setup that reproduces the problem. Just delete everything except one or more pink faces/areas then go to File > Clean Up and then share file. $\endgroup$ Nov 1, 2022 at 12:10
  • $\begingroup$ Ok thanks! I added the file! $\endgroup$
    – Evan
    Nov 1, 2022 at 12:44

1 Answer 1

0
$\begingroup$

When mixing together multiple normal/bump maps, EEVEE will turn bright pink, because it doesn't support this sort of rendering yet.

You will need to view the material in cycles in order to see the mixed bump/normal mapped texture.

Note: if the texture remains pink in Cycles, it is most likely because one of the image textures in your file that you are using for your shading is missing.

$\endgroup$
11
  • $\begingroup$ In my case it was because my GPU driver was outdated. After updating drivers, it worked. $\endgroup$ Nov 1, 2022 at 12:12
  • $\begingroup$ Well, there you go! :D $\endgroup$ Nov 1, 2022 at 12:18
  • $\begingroup$ Ok, but I read that the material preview is always using EEVEE? But if that is the case then how could others see it on material preview? I am working on a Mac Mini with a 8-Core GPU, is it just not good enough for this kind of texturing? $\endgroup$
    – Evan
    Nov 1, 2022 at 12:36
  • $\begingroup$ You can't view non-EEVEE-compatible materials in Material Preview. You would need to go into Rendered View. (The fourth option after Material Preview) Also, that Mac is fine. Texturing doesn't really bog down computers. Rendering animations and stuff does! ;) $\endgroup$ Nov 1, 2022 at 12:52
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Ok thanks, I was almost worried that it could be my Mac! But still (I don't want to be annoying I just don't get it) if you look at this video: youtu.be/1aNnERnHRZg?t=715 he is seeing his texture in material preview. i did everything exactly as he did it, so why is he able to do that but I am not? $\endgroup$
    – Evan
    Nov 1, 2022 at 12:59

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .