I know that, the file name turns red when the file name is the same as an existing filename in the "save as" window. But that is not enough. It has happened to me repeatedly that I overwrote a file by accidentally double clicking on an existing file. Or I edit the name of the file and there is another old file with the same name. Then by hitting enter twice it is already being overwritten and there is no way I can stop it. Hitting escape doesn't work even if it is taking a while to save it. Also hitting ctrl+S by accident sometimes overwrites earlier versions that I might want to go back to.
I did some research and apparently there used to be a popup that people couldn't get rid of but now it is completely gone.(I am using Blender 2.93.2)
Is there any way to bring that warning back?