4
$\begingroup$

I am having some trouble when re-linking image textures that have single user copies using different color spaces. I.E. A texture being used multiple times in the file, both in Non-Color and sRGB color spaces:

enter image description here enter image description here

  1. Create two objects and assign a unique material to them.
  2. Plug in the same image texture into the base color of each object, but make one of them a single user copy set to "Non-Color" instead of "sRGB".
  3. Rename the texture on disk to something different to break the links.
  4. Point your materials to the new texture on disk.
  5. Notice that your single user copy is no longer a single user copy. If you change the color space to non-color, the other material will change too.
  6. This can be mitigated in simple scenes by making another single user copy. But if this material is used all over it can quickly become a nightmare trying to remember what was supposed to be sRGB and what was supposed to be non-color.

I can provide more images if any of this is confusing.

Is this working as intended? Or is this a bug? If I make a single user copy, I expect that datablock to function independently from the copy. But the process of re-linking the texture breaks this.

Any help would be great. Thanks!

$\endgroup$
4
  • $\begingroup$ Hello :). Not sure I understand. How exactly do you "4. Point your materials to the new texture"? I don't think Blender can directly replace a missing image with a different one. $\endgroup$ Jan 18 '21 at 12:09
  • $\begingroup$ Hi! Just click on the small folder icon: i.imgur.com/PjVJbdG.png $\endgroup$
    – Jay
    Jan 18 '21 at 17:19
  • $\begingroup$ Oh, ok :). 'Single user' is assigned to the image texture, so when you load a new one, Blender doesn't know it's supposed to be a single user copy. But you can get there using RMB > Remap in the Outliner. I can post a full answer when I get home :). $\endgroup$ Jan 18 '21 at 17:32
  • $\begingroup$ That would be great. Thank you! $\endgroup$
    – Jay
    Jan 18 '21 at 17:51
3
$\begingroup$

When opening a new texture, Blender doesn't know it's meant to be a single user copy.
You should Remap the old texture instead, so it'll change for all materials at once.

  1. Add your 'new texture.jpg', with a second copy (new texture.001) for the non-color variant
  2. Open Outliner > Scene
  3. Right click the 'old texture.jpg' and go > Remap users > 'new texture.jpg' > OK.

enter image description here

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.