1
$\begingroup$

I think I may have lost a lot of my work but I'm hoping someone here can help me find a way to recover it.

I'm working on an animation project where when I make a new scene I usually make a copy of one of my existing scenes that has the models I created already in it and use it as a template for the new scene so that I don't have to recreate or append my models.

I usually take an existing scene, make a copy using "Save As" with a new file name for the new scene and then delete all the previous keyframes to get a clean slate, but still have all my models.

However, in my most recent session, I realized that I had actually forgotten to first make a copy of my original scene by using Save As and so had just deleted my original project, which represented a lot of work. I'm been looking around to see if there is a way to go back to my original file or go back in my project history so I can restore my original file but can't find a way to do this.

Is there a way to see my Blender projects history? I just need to be able to go back to the original file before I made all my changes. Is there a way to do this?

$\endgroup$
5
$\begingroup$

You may have an autosave of when you last quit, you can check in this menu.

enter image description here

$\endgroup$
2
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @blasterfish Or try to check .blend1 file blender.stackexchange.com/a/14463/2214 $\endgroup$
    – vklidu
    Nov 20 '20 at 7:22
  • $\begingroup$ Oh this is true. I've disabled this because I can go back file versions in a lot of cases. $\endgroup$ Nov 20 '20 at 13:46

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.