12
$\begingroup$

I'm working with a node group (⎈ CtrlG) and I would like to make an independently editable copy of it.

When I'm making a duplicate (⇧ ShiftD), there is a second node group created. However, whenever I make changes to the nodes inside this copy, the changes are also applied to the first group. How do I avoid that?

$\endgroup$
1
  • $\begingroup$ Make single user. $\endgroup$ Dec 2, 2014 at 20:46

1 Answer 1

19
$\begingroup$

Click the little number next to the name of the node group after duplicating it:

enter image description here

This will "unlink" that node group and make it into a copy, so that editing it will not change other instances of the group it was duplicated from.

The number refers to the number of "users" of that datablock, i.e. the number of instances of that node group.

$\endgroup$
4
  • $\begingroup$ I was writing my answer... D: $\endgroup$ Dec 2, 2014 at 20:48
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ @someonewithpc By all means, keep writing it ;) (we want to boost our answer ratio, so why not?) $\endgroup$
    – gandalf3
    Dec 2, 2014 at 20:52
  • 3
    $\begingroup$ Because it's the same.. $\endgroup$ Dec 2, 2014 at 20:54
  • $\begingroup$ In Blender 3.0, I don't see this button - but it's in the side panel in node -> properties. $\endgroup$
    – mik01aj
    Mar 16 at 18:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.