8
$\begingroup$

Lets say I have an asset named "John.blend" that I link into my animation "Shot_005.blend".

I animate my awesome character, John, over several days and am eventually happy with it.

John

Unknown to me, someone renames "John.blend" to "John_FINAL_v1_USETHISONE.blend".

A while later, I open up my "Shot_005.blend" file (without noticing the warnings about the missing library, "John.blend", or the empty space in the scene) and make some tweaks to the render settings. I then save the file and close Blender.

The next time I open Shot_005.blend, I notice that John has mysteriously vanished, leaving behind only a ghostly Empty object in his place.

Not John

I then realize that the John file was renamed, and attempt to solve my problem by renaming the file back to "John.blend", however upon reloading the shot file, John is still gone (because the library data block no longer exists)


Is there any way I can recover my awesome animation that I spent several days on?

$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ That's a general problem of linking. Same issue here: blender.stackexchange.com/questions/16359/…. It seems not to be possible to edit the path of the linked object at the moment. In the other post Gandalf3 suggested to add your lost object, then copy the empty transformations and apply it to the new one. $\endgroup$ – p2or Nov 18 '14 at 19:28
  • $\begingroup$ i had the same problem when i renamed some folder with dependencies in it. after asking around in #blender irc, i came to see that there is no apparent solution. i could solve it by undoing my renaming of said folder and digging out an older version of the file in one of my backups. that worked. another solution is, as suggested, relink your objects manually and apply the transforms of the now-empties. btw the devs in #blendercoders told me it's a known issue and will be fixed eventually. $\endgroup$ – blackdot Sep 27 '15 at 19:50
1
$\begingroup$

Currently there is no solution, but this will be fixed soon, I think. Remember you can open a backup by opening your FILE.blend1, if its the first wrong save or .blend2, if its the second time, you saved it after your mistake. just activate the Failsave Filter (Failsave) in the Blender Filebrowser to open your Backup File.

$\endgroup$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.