I'm having trouble understanding the keymap presets system. I create a new keymap preset, then with that preset selected I go and edit some keys. Then I go back to the default Blender keymap but... the one I edited in my preset is also written to the Blender one? If I restore the keymap in the Blender preset then the changes I make in my preset are also restored.
A similar question has been asked previously to which a comment was made linking to a blender developer site that states that this is in fact by design. My question is then how are you supposed to use the preset system if every change you make is applied to all keymaps?
Am using 2.83 but have tested this behaviour is the same going all the way back to 2.79