5
$\begingroup$

enter image description here

I have tried to use 'unlink' in outliner editor, because I didn't know what it is exactly. And then I thought that it did same thing as 'delete'. But there must be differences between them. What is it?

$\endgroup$
6
$\begingroup$

Unlink removes objects from collections, Delete erases them permanently.

Removing Data

Unlinking doesn't remove the object or its geometry from the opened file, it just removes them from the Collection clicked on. If an object is in more than one collection it will still remain in others, otherwise it may become orphaned data.

Orphan data is "garbage collected" and may be removed on saving file.

Put Outliner in Orphan Data Mode to check before saving to avoid losing important data.

Deleting fully erases the object and its geometry, while also removing it from all the collections it belongs to, from the scene and from the file, reducing file size and memory consumption.

enter image description here

|improve this answer|||||
$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ thank you! your answer is perfect. $\endgroup$ – 나미손 Aug 6 '19 at 9:51
  • $\begingroup$ Sure of that? I mean about unlink = not removed from the file? I may have missed something. $\endgroup$ – lemon Mar 4 at 8:01
  • 2
    $\begingroup$ @lemon If an unlinked object becomes an orphan, it may be lost after save and re-open. $\endgroup$ – batFINGER Mar 4 at 8:17
  • $\begingroup$ @batFINGER, ok so we aggree about that. 'otherwise it will be unlinked from the scene and become orphaned data, but not removed from file' is not correct. $\endgroup$ – lemon Mar 4 at 8:25
  • $\begingroup$ @batFINGER, seen your edit. Can 'delete' be considered as 'unlink from all'? Or is there something else? $\endgroup$ – lemon Mar 4 at 9:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.