One can always be wiser. Unfortunately, it was not possible to move the settings from v. 2.79 to v. 2.79b. As the included installer installed v. 2.79b on v. 2.79. Fine. But all my presets disappeared so I have to get started on the gene. It might not be an idea, in future programs, to provide a "normal" update option. Or is there a good reason why it should be so?
%APPDATA%/Blender Foundation/Blender/ (Windows) there should be a folder called
2.79, this is shared between all 2.79 series of blender include 2.79b
This is the preference and start up and some script setting folder. You should manually backup these files before update to 2.79b if you are worry about it.
After install 2.79b, you can manually copy back your backup files(not recommend, only setting is lost or blender failed to import old preference)