1
$\begingroup$

I'm doing texture painting and using a new texture. Sometime after painting i forget to save that image and when i quit there's no warning at all. Is there any setting in Blender to prevent this ?

$\endgroup$
2
  • 4
    $\begingroup$ I don't think so, I never understood why though... $\endgroup$
    – moonboots
    Apr 4, 2019 at 8:04
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ There isn't default way to do this (not sure about recent 2.8 builds) however there was written script quite a bit ago blender.stackexchange.com/questions/13407/… which doesn't appear to work in new versions $\endgroup$
    – Mr Zak
    Apr 4, 2019 at 12:59

1 Answer 1

1
$\begingroup$

There is not a warning per se, but the image name in the Image Editor will have an asterisk next to it indicating it has changes to it - also, on my system, I do get a warning when closing a file that there are changes not saved. There is an option to pack all images into the file, and that works for some people - but also best practice is to save the image to disk first, and then make use of the save all dirty images operator.

$\endgroup$
1
  • $\begingroup$ That's the big problem . The warning is only for modifying the project file but not for unsaved image. Try this out : 1. Edit the project and do the painting, close Blender, it will give you a warning, Now save the project but DO NOT save the image. Now close the blender and you will not see any warning. 2. Try to re-open a project file with texture paint, don't do anything else, just apply some paint stroke. Now , close Blender. Surprise.... it will close immediately and silently. Btw, I know that asterix sign , but that just not enough to save my life :-) $\endgroup$
    – andio
    Apr 4, 2019 at 13:27

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .