0
$\begingroup$

This question already has an answer here:

So I just downloaded 2.71 (YAY!) and tried the super-handy "copy previous settings" option on the splashscreen...

...but Blender froze (prolly cuz I had another instance open at the time). No worries, I'll kill it and try again...

...except it's not on the splashscreen anymore. Well (says I) it's gotta be somewhere: space "copy prev..." yup! There it is!

...But it throws the error: "[such-and-such-directory]/Blender/2.71 exists!"

...Well, I guess I can delete the existing directory (and whatever record it had) and just re-extract...

...But it still remembers!

So the question is, how do I get Blender to copy the previous settings, if it thinks it already has?

$\endgroup$

marked as duplicate by gandalf3, David, CoDEmanX, Keavon, Vader Jun 27 '14 at 15:32

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • $\begingroup$ I'll give that a shot. I thought things had changed since then. (Would "it's the same as 2.6 versions" be an acceptable answer?) $\endgroup$ – Matt Jun 26 '14 at 20:16
  • $\begingroup$ The reason it remembers is because it created a directory in the user path (~/.config/blender, or %APPDATA% if you are on windows). AFAIK This stuff hasn't changed significantly in a long time (no real reason for it to :). If things do change, then we can update the old post. $\endgroup$ – gandalf3 Jun 26 '14 at 20:17

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.