0
$\begingroup$

Since a week, when I undo in object mode, sculpt mode or in the properties panels (in fact in all editors I tested except edit mode), it doesn't undo in the mode, but instead it enter the edit mode of the last object I edited and undo there.

Also it destroy the work I've done since the last time I was in edit mode. So my blender is totaly unusable. I'm downloading every daily build since a week in the hope it corrects but it doesn't. I also found that my previous 2.8 builds doesn't work anymore and that my 2.79 bender just works fine. So I gess it might have something to do with the user preferences. I have no idea.

I didn't found anyone with a similar problem, and no bug report reffers to it. It isn't a keyboard problem since I tested to undo by the menues, and ctrl+z just works fine in edit mode. It repeats with every new files I create and in older too.

gif for clarity I hope

The one who solve my problem is awesome, and thanks to anyone that gives a gess

$\endgroup$
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ If you do ctrl + alt + z for undo history what shows up? Does it show the movement? $\endgroup$ – Aoradon Dec 10 '18 at 19:33
  • $\begingroup$ it works fine on my version so I don't know maybe you are confused because the undo in 2.80 behaves a bit different from the previous version as for now it literally undo's everything you did step by step. while before in blender 2.79 it was per Mode. $\endgroup$ – Virgil Sisoe Dec 10 '18 at 19:57
  • $\begingroup$ ctrl + alt + z doesn't seem to do do anything in 2.8, I don't know if it is just me $\endgroup$ – Romain Guimbal Dec 10 '18 at 20:05
  • $\begingroup$ It is weirder than just diferent behaviour, when I want to undo a sculpt stroke in sculpt mode for example, it shouldn't undo in edit mode and lose all what I sculpted. $\endgroup$ – Romain Guimbal Dec 10 '18 at 20:10
3
$\begingroup$

There is (and in 2.79 also have been) two Undo handling behaviors, which can be triggered using the Global Undo property in the Preferences. Go to your Preferences, navigate to Editing, and make sure Global Undo is checked there to get back to the undo behavior you are used to:

undo prefs

In 2.79, when Global Undo is unchecked, only edit mode changes would be recorded on the Undo Stack. Object mode changes then cannot be undone. In 2.80, at the moment the behavior you described is used, but this might change until final release.

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ Thank you so much. I wonder how anyone can use the software without it, there might be something I didn't get... $\endgroup$ – Romain Guimbal Dec 10 '18 at 20:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.