18
$\begingroup$

Does Blender have a setting or addon that makes it prompt you to 'save unsaved changes' when you close the window like other applications? I cannot count the number of times I have lost small pieces of my work because I exited the program just to check if I had made any changes.

$\endgroup$

3 Answers 3

13
$\begingroup$

Yes, (But only on MS-Windows) open User Preferences and look under Interface, you should see a checkbox with Prompt Quit beside it.

enter image description here

Additionally, or preferably you can use CtrlAlt + U to save it and make it load with your other defaults.

About Macs:

Closing the app with CmdQ invokes the save prompt. Quitting with CmdW doesn't. (possible bug?) The only indication that you haven't saved is the 'dot' in the red, close-window button, top left of the window.

enter image description here

$\endgroup$
8
  • 3
    $\begingroup$ To bad it doesn't work on linux.. $\endgroup$
    – gandalf3
    Commented Jun 21, 2013 at 0:20
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @gandalf3 you have to use Ctrl + Q, updated my answer. $\endgroup$
    – iKlsR
    Commented Jun 21, 2013 at 0:46
  • $\begingroup$ hm.. I know about Ctrl + Q, but never really used it.. $\endgroup$
    – gandalf3
    Commented Jun 21, 2013 at 1:45
  • $\begingroup$ On Mac, Cmd+Q does invoke the 'wanna save?' prompt. Cmd+W doesn't. $\endgroup$
    – Mike Pan
    Commented Jun 21, 2013 at 4:17
  • 3
    $\begingroup$ Why not Ctrl + Alt + U to save user preferences only? Ctrl + U would also save everything else (e.g. scene objects) to startup file $\endgroup$
    – Alvin Wong
    Commented Jun 21, 2013 at 14:48
10
$\begingroup$

Additionally, Blender auto saves to a temporary directory every 5 minutes by default, (settings located in User Preferences > File)

It also automatically saves a "quit.blend" file in a temporary directory when it has exited. (This is recoverable by going to Info > File > Recover last session)

Blender even saves backup files in the directory that your file is saved in (foo.blend1, blend2) for a more permanent backup.
See this question for more info on this.. Blender saves a new file every time

All of this is default behaviour.

$\endgroup$
4
$\begingroup$

Also
enter image description here

that star indicates unsaved changes.

$\endgroup$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .