Take the 2-minute tour ×
Blender Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who use Blender to create 3D graphics, animations, or games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've found some neat combinations of nodes to create certain effects, so I'd like to make them a group and then have that node available on my list of available nodes, even when I reload the startup file. How would I do that?

share|improve this question
    
related: blender.stackexchange.com/q/3455/599 –  gandalf3 Mar 17 at 6:48
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 2 down vote accepted

You can save the startup .blend and the user preferences by pressing CtrlU (note that in 2.66 the startup .blend and user preferences were split. See this post for more detail).

Also note that the startup .blend contains everything a normal blendfile does, so any geometry, textures, brushes, node groups, UI layouts, view orientations, etc. will be saved and loaded by default when you start blender.

To create and save a node group:

  1. With the nodes selected, press CtrlG to group them (AltG to ungroup).

    enter image description here

  2. Save the file (CtrlS)

  3. Open your startup file (CtrlN)
  4. Press ShiftF1 to Append. Navigate inside the file with the node group, select NodeTree and then select the node group.

    enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here

  5. Add the node group (ShiftA> Groups > Group) and press the F icon on the node to save the data block even if it has no users. This will ensure the node group is saved even if it is not used.

  6. Delete the node group (provided you did the above step, it will still be in the add menu even after reloading the file), and rearrange the UI how you want it to appear when you start blender.

    enter image description here

  7. Save the startup .blend (CtrlU).

Note that this procedure is the same for all types of nodes (Composite, shader, etc.)

Recovering the default startup

You can reload the default settings and startup.blend by pressing File > Load factory settings:

enter image description here

Note that this only loads the defaults, it does not reset the default .blend. To overwrite your startup .blend with the defaults, load the factory settings and then press CtrlU.

In case you want to back up (or delete, replace, etc.) your startup.blend, navigate to the user path/config/ and there should be a file named startup.blend.

To find the user path for your OS, see the wiki

share|improve this answer
add comment

I wouldn't recommend to add everything to the Startup File. You could also create a node library (.blend file) to hold all your nodes and link and/or append groups from the library to your current project.

Accessible from the Info Header

  • File Link Ctrl-Alt-O

  • File Append Shift-F1

A nice example library: bwide-nodepack-for-blender

You find the nodes within the .blend file in the folder NodeTree:

enter image description here

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.