Take the 2-minute tour ×
Blender Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who use Blender to create 3D graphics, animations, or games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This question already has an answer here:

How do you remove the default cube that appears in the scene upon opening the software? I wish to start with a blank scene when opening Blender.

share|improve this question
    
Possible duplicate: How to change Blender's default startup settings? –  JohnB Dec 16 '13 at 5:35
    
This is not a duplicate of 'How do i delete an object?' because this question and answer intends to include the process of saving it as the startup file. Deleting the cube is not as important but it's included. While the answer is accomplished in 'How to change Blender's default startup settings?', that answer differs because this question/answer is intended for less advanced users who wish to accomplish this exact task of removing the default cube and they may not know to search for changing the default startup settings. –  Keavon Dec 16 '13 at 5:39
    
IMHO this is borderline anyway, see this post, but I think it is a duplicate of How to change Blender's default startup settings?. That answer makes it clear that setting the startup.blend sets the scene as a startup, users should be able to figure out that they want to delete the cube. (This is a pretty localized case anyway) If you think that the answer here might not be understood by new users, you can always edit it. Voted to close. –  gandalf3 Dec 16 '13 at 7:13
3  
This is an obvious case of hat farming. Please stop. –  iKlsR Dec 16 '13 at 13:21
add comment

marked as duplicate by gandalf3, Adhi, iKlsR Dec 16 '13 at 13:22

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

1 Answer

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Delete the cube: Starting with the unchanged default scene, select the cube (RMB click on the cube) then hit X or DELETE and RMB click the following popup. You may also repeat this step on the camera and light if you wish to start with a completely blank scene.

Save the startup file: Click File > Save Startup File or hit CtrlU and click to confirm. The scene is now saved as the default startup scene and you no longer have the default cube!

share|improve this answer
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.